Tuesday, June 22, 2010


The American Prize is pleased to announce that the TEXAS CHAMBER GROUP ORCHESTRA, of Austin, TX, Wesley Schulz, conductor, is the 2010 winner of The American Prize in Orchestral Performance (college/university orchestra division.) Congratulations.

The Oxford Chamber Orchestra of Oxford, OH, placed second.
The Cornell Symphony Orchestra of Ithaca, NY, placed third.

Other finalists are not ranked in order, but will receive official certificates and adjudicated comments.

In making their decision, the judging panel praised the TEXAS CHAMBER GROUP ORCHESTRA for a performance of Rite of Spring "excellent...astonishingly good...extremely impressive in almost every detail."

The Texas Chamber Group was founded in 2007 by conductor Wesley Schulz for the purpose of giving chamber sized orchestral concerts to the community of Austin, Texas. Featuring works from across the orchestral spectrum the ensemble has given successful performances of Mozart’s Symphony No. 41, Milhaud’s Creation of the World, Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring, Torke’s Adjustable Wrench, and Stephen Frost’s Concerto for Bassoon, among others.

Congratulations to the Texas Chamber Group Orchestra, the Oxford Chamber Orchestra and the
Cornell Symphony Orchestra for their outstanding achievement, ranked among the finest college/university orchestras in the country.


No comments:

Post a Comment