Thursday, July 19, 2012

FINALISTS: OPERA & MUSICAL THEATER ensembles and conductors, 2012

The American Prize is pleased to announce finalist OPERA and MUSICAL THEATER conductors and ensembles for 2012. Please scroll down to view the different divisions.

Do let us know of any misprints or if you have questions. or

Enrico Caruso in "I Pagliacci"
The American Prize in Opera Performance, 2012—Professional Division

Guerilla Opera, Boston, MA—Rudolf Rojahn: Heart of a Dog

Juventas New Music Ensemble, Boston, MA—Isaac Schankler: Light & Power


Community Division

dell'Arte Opera Ensemble, New York, NY—Strauss: Ariadne auf Naxos

Hubbard Hall Opera Theater, Cambridge, NYDonizetti: Don Pasquale


College/University Division

Crane Opera Ensemble, SUNY-Potsdam—Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors

University of Connecticut School of Music, Storrs, CT—Bernstein: Candide

University of Houston—Moores Opera Center, Houston, TX—Mechem: Tartuffe


The American Prize in Musical Theater Performance, 2012High School Division

East Rockaway Junior/Senior High School, Long Island, NY—Crazy for You

Youth Musical Theater Company of Berkeley, Berkeley, CA—Ragtime

George Mason High School, Falls Church, VA—Les Miserables


The American Prize in Conducting —Opera Division, 2012 


Robert W. Butts—BONJ Opera—Mozart: Don Giovanni
Christopher Fecteau—dell'Arte Opera Ensemble—Strauss: Ariande aud Naxos
Warren Puffer Jones—Arbor Opera Theater—Bizet: Carmen


H. Carl Hess—Duquesne University—Puccini: Gianni Schicchi, Suor Angelica

Maria Sensi Sellner—Carnegie Mellon University School of Music— Puccini: Suor Angelica

Kirk A. Severtson—SUNY Potsdam, The Crane School of Music—Menotti: Amahl and the Night Visitors          

Marilyn Miller in "Ziegfeld Follies"
The American Prize in Conducting —Musical Theater Division, 2012

High School

David Crews Moschler—Youth Musical Theater Company of Berkeley—Ragtime

Patrick Towey—Ken-Ton Summer Theatre Arts Group Experience—The Wiz

Mary Jo West—George Mason High School—Les Miserables


Congratulations to all. We expect to announce additional finalists tomorrow.

No comments:

Post a Comment