Monday, April 21, 2014

ANNOUNCING: Chicago Oratorio Finalists, 2014

The American Prize is pleased to announce FINALISTS for the Chicago Oratorio Award, 2014.

Four $500 prizes, one each for soprano, mezzo-soprano (alto), tenor, baritone (bass), will be awarded as performance fees to soloists selected to appear under the baton of Maestro David Katz in concert with the Chicago Bar Association Symphony Orchestra & Chorus, performing the solo portions of Beethoven's Choral Fantasy and the Quartet from Verdi's Rigoletto on Wednesday, May 21, 2014 at St James Episcopal Cathedral, Chicago.

This additional opportunity, offered as part of 2014 The American Prize in Vocal Performance Friedrich and Virginia Schorr Memorial Awards national competition, is judged entirely independently from the rest of the contests.

NOTE to FINALISTS: If your schedule has changed and you are NO LONGER available for the dress rehearsal and concert in Chicago (Tues, May 20 and Wed May 21st, 2014) please email us immediately at If you ARE still available, you need NOT reconfirm.

HOW WINNERS WILL BE ANNOUNCED: After Maestro Katz selects the winning four vocalists for the Chicago Oratorio Award, he will contact them by email from this address: to ask them to confirm their participation and accept the award. Once all four have accepted, the winners will be announced publicly on this blog. Please see our Facebook page for the exact day and time. 

Please make us aware of any misprints:

The 2014 finalists are:

H.Conner Angell,  Upland IN
Julie Lyn Barber,  Parker City IN
Andrew Bawden,  Harrisonburg VA
Danielle Marcelle Bond,  Los Angeles CA
Joan Marie Dauber,  Chicago IL
Julianne Gearhart,  Charlestown MA
Annie Gill,  Baltimore MD
Audrey Grieme,  Lafayette IN
Katie Hannigan,  Rochester NY
Mitchell Hutchings,  Houghton NY
Daniel Kamalic,  Watertown MA
Christian Ketter,  Chicago IL
Peter Lightfoot,  East Lansing MI
Courtney Miller,  Boston MA
Susan Nelson,  Chicago IL
Michael Orlinsky,  Chicago IL
Clara Osowski,  Brooklyn Center MN
Leo Radosavljevic,  Willmette IL
Jamie Reimer,  Papillion NE
Kelsey K. Rogers,  Tuscon AZ
Megan Roth,  Bloomington IN
Sean Stanton,  Chicago IL
Emily Sternfeld-Dunn,  Wichita KS
Christine Steyer, Oak Park IL
Josefien Stoppelenburg,  Evanston IL
Nicole Warner,  Hudson WI


No comments:

Post a Comment