Monday, May 19, 2014


The American Prize is pleased to announce an extensive list of 2014 SEMI-FINALIST composers in the orchestra division. Congratulations! To know the exact date when finalists will be announced in June, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

Please make us aware of any misprints in the listings below by emailing:

The American Prize in Composition—Orchestra (professional division)

Mark Ackerley  San Francisco CA
Lee Actor  Monte Sereno CA
   Concerto for Timpani and Orchestra
Steven Amundson  Northfield MN
Gary Aubry  Cudahy WI
David Avshalomov  Santa Monica CA
Jesse Ayers  Canton OH
Jose Bevia  Guttenberg NJ
Robert J. Bradshaw  Glouster MA
   Canticum Sacrum: Canticle of Zechariah
Christopher Buchenholz  New York NY
   Elegy and Dance, in Just
Daniel M. Cavanagh  Arlington TX
   Divining Reverence on the Far Eighty
Mark Dal Porto  Portales NM
   Song of Eternity
M. L. Daniels  Round Rock TX
   The Return (of David to Jerusalem)
Nancy Bloomer Deussen   Mountain View CA
   The Transit of Venus, Central Coast Concerto
Duilio Dobrin  Traverse City MI
   Of All Things Lost
Kenneth D. Froelich  Fresno CA
  Symphony No.1: Dream Dialogs
Arthur Gottschalk  Houston TX
   Fantasy Variations
Jocelyn Hagan  Minneapolis MN
Kenneth A. Jacobs  Knoxville TN
   Approaching Northern Darkness
Fredrick Kaufman  Miami Beach FL
   Guernica Piano Concerto
Damon Lee  Lincoln NE
   Undercurrent, Blue Note
Darin Lewis  Stamford CT
   Oboe Concerto/Clarinet Concertino
Paul Lombardi  Vermillion SD
   Piano Concerto
James Joseph Ogburn  Wenatchee WA
   Singularity: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra
Rebecca Oswald  Eugene OR
   Man of Oregon, Finding the Murray River
William Popp  Loveland CO
   Concerto for Accordion and String Orchestra
James Poulsen  Des Moines IA
   Heartland Poem
David P. Sartor  Hermitage TN
   Reveries, Black Ball Counts Double
Max Simoncic  Stockton CA
   Concerto for Accordion and String Orchestra
Max Simoncic  Stockton CA
   Petit Cirque
Geoffrey Stanton  Ann Arbor MI
Martha Stoddard  San Francisco CA
   Points of Reference, Gait Changes, Cowgirl Rondo
Marilyn Taft Thomas  McKeesport PA
   Nuclear Winter
Michael Sidney Timpson  Atherton CA
   Outlier: Concerto for Bass Clarinet and Orchestra
Julius P. Williams  Boston MA
   Myths of History
Gregg Wramage  Atlantic Highlands NJ
   La tristesse durera
Yoko Wylegala  Suquamish WA
   B isst Eis

The American Prize in Composition—Orchestra (student division)

Landon Andresen  San Pedro CA
   Three Movement
Nicolas Bizub  Appleton WI
Rodrigo Bussad Cesar  Miami FL
   Depois da Chuva (after the rain)
Alex Cooke  Cleveland OH
Mari Funabashi  Phoenix AZ
   Finis Origine Pendet
Texu Kim  Bloomington IN
   Toccata Inquieta, Sketches for Contredanse
Texu Kim  Bloomington IN
   Splash!!, Monastic Sceneries
Stefanie Lubkowski  Cambridge MA
   Bliss Whispers
Peter Nostrand  Mason Neck VA
   Symphony #1 (The Schubertian)
Younjae Ok  Madison WI
Patrick O'Malley  Auburn IN
Jakub Polaczyk  Lexington KY
   Fanfares Procession
Sabrina Raber  Whitefish Bay WI
   A Luctum ad Pacem
Sid Richardson  Durham NC
Zachary Sheets  Norwich VT
   Stata and the Dancing House
Jamie Whitmarsh  Tallahassee FL
   For Many Chairs

No comments:

Post a Comment