Wednesday, September 16, 2015


The American Prize is pleased to announce FINALIST composers of band music for 2015. Congratulations! To know the exact date when winners and runners-up will be announced, please "like" our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

If you are not a finalist this year, please remember that the contests are not yet over. The American Prize reserves the right to award Honorable Mentions and Citations for Special Achievement to any contestant, regardless of final placement.

Citations and Honorable Mentions are usually awarded at the same time as winners and runners-up, but can be presented at any time up to the last winners' announcement this fall. 

Please make us aware of any misprints in the listings below by emailing:

FINALISTS: The American Prize in Composition—band/wind ensemble division

David  Avshalomov    Santa Monica CA
   Vignettes for Concert Band

Jennifer Bellor    Henderson NV

Oren Boneh    Montreal, QC Canada
   Doors That Lead to Doors

Vaibhav Mohanty    Charleston SC

Kyle Simpson    Washington PA
   Look To This Day

Timothy C. Takach    Minneapolis MN
   Frost Giant

Nick Vasallo    Eastvale CA
   Antares Rising 

Ken Walicki    Fullerton CA
   Jane Goodall Dances

Kyle Wernke    Fishers  IN


We encourage finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on social media, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog.

Here is a sample announcement:

"Great News! I've just been selected as a finalist in the (blank) division of The American Prize national non-profit competitions in the performing arts. Here's the link: (copy link here). The American Prize will be announcing winners in my division next month. You can learn more about this prestigious national competition here: or follow the news on Facebook: or Twitter: "

Please feel free to modify or expand this announcement to suit your needs.

Congratulations to all finalists.

No comments:

Post a Comment