Wednesday, September 7, 2016

ERNST BACON AWARD semi-finalists, 2016—all composers (alpha list)

Ernst Bacon as a young man.
The American Prize is proud to share an extensive alphabetical list of American composers, from many periods, writing in many styles, whose works are semi-finalists for The American Prize Ernst Bacon Memorial Award in the Performance of American Music, 2016.

Applicants include ensembles, conductors, and in some cases, the composers themselves, vying in four different categories of performance: professional, college/university, community, and youth.

To see the list by category, please scroll to the previous post, where the contest is explained in detail, and the honoree, American composer Ernst Bacon, is profiled.

John Luther Adams—Dark Waves

Samuel Barber—First Essay

Armando Bayolo—A Shelter that Filters the Sun

Leonard Bernstein—Candide Overture

Lisa Bielawa—The Trojan Woman

John G. Bilotta—The Song of the Hermit Thrush

Ernest Bloch—Schelomo

Jerry Brubaker—Rocky Mountain Majesty

George Chadwick—Tabasco, The Burlesque Opera

Aaron Copland—Billy the Kid Suite

Aaron Copland/Longfield—Fanfare for the Common Man

Aaron Copland—Lincoln Portrait

Wallace DePue, Sr.—The Bird Frog and Tree Club

Christina Brice Dolanc—Stars Alone

Michael Daugherty—Ladder to the Moon

Maxwell Dulaney—The Old Harp, version 3

Eric Ewazen—Palmetto Suite for Alto Trombone and Orchestra

George Gershwin—Summertime

Arthur Gottschalk—Requiem: for the Living

Ferde Grofe—Mississippi Suite

Jake Heggie—Dead Man Walking

Robert Charles Howard—Wilderness Reflections

Ssu-Yu Huang—Red Moon

Tim Huling—The American Northwest

Charles Ives—The Fourth of July

Charles Ives—Three Places in New England: Putnam’s Camp

Pierre Jalbert—Autumn Rhapsody

Maxwell Karmazyn—Le Voyage d'une Vie

Kent Kennan—Night Solilioquy

Joseph Kern—Chamber Symphony

Farkhad Khudyev—The Sounds of Eternity

Kyle Kindred—Canciones de Alfaro

Libby Larsen—Four on the Floor

Libby Larsen—What the Monster Saw

Richard Meyer—An American Rhapsody

Henry Mollicone—Lady Bird, First Lady of the Land

Ron Nelson—Jubilee

Ron Nelson—Savannah River Holiday

Mark O’Connor—Elevations, Improvised Violin Concerto

Carter Pann—Slalom

Russell Peck—Signs of Life II

Bryan Percoco—Involutions of an Abyss

Kareem Roustom—Hewar

Showalter/Daniels—Creation Dawn

William Grant Still—Afro-American Symphony

Martha Stoddard—Gait Changes

Steven Stucky—Second Concerto

Joan Szymko—Shadow & Light (an alzheimer’s journey in sixteen movements)

Ken Ueno—On the Condition for the Existence of Most Specific Hypothesis

various arrangers—Sing til the Spirit Moves (spirituals from 23 seasons)

Robert Ward—The Crucible

Robert Wendel—Parade of the Percussionists

John Williams—Superman March

Samuel Winnie—Nightfall in Lothlorien

No comments:

Post a Comment