Wednesday, September 21, 2016

PIANO CONCERTO finalists, 2016: The Lorin Hollander Award

Lorin Hollander

The American Prize is pleased to announce FINALIST pianists for 2016 in the CONCERTO division, The LORIN HOLLANDER AWARD. Congratulations! To know the exact date when winners and runners-up will be announced, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

If you are not a finalist this year, please remember that the contests are not yet over. The American Prize reserves the right to award Honorable Mentions and Citations for Special Achievement to any contestant, regardless of final placement.

TAP has honored a number of semi-finalists and quarter finalists in the past--to recognize a unique talent or focus, unusual repertoire, vital programming or outreach.

Citations and Honorable Mentions are usually awarded at the same time as winners and runners-up, but can be presented at any time up to the last winners' announcement this winter.

The American Prize LORIN HOLLANDER AWARD celebrates the artistry of one of the greatest pianists of his generation. Lorin Hollander has appeared as guest soloist with virtually every major symphony orchestra in the world and is a veteran of over 2,500 performances across the globe. The American Prize is delighted to share the legacy of this legendary artist through the re-naming of the award for Piano Concerto Performance in his honor. For more about the extraordinary life and career of Lorin Hollander, please visit

Please make us aware of any misprints in the listings below by emailing:

The American Prize in Piano Performance, concerto, The Lorin Hollander Award, 2016
—professional division

Annette DiMedio    Philadelphia PA   
    Prokofiev #3, Tchaikovsky B minor

Kiyoshi Tamagawa    Austin TX   
    Mozart C major, K503

Thomas Yee    Honolulu HI   
    Tchaikovsky B minor

The American Prize in Piano Performance, concerto, The Lorin Hollander Award, 2016
—college/university division

Congcong Chai    Lawrence KS   
    Rachmaninoff #1

Li-Hsin Chen    Kansas City MO   
    Beeethoven G major

Nathan Cheung    Pleasanton CA   
    Prokofiev #3

Yoonsook Song    Athens GA   
    Chopin E minor

The American Prize in Piano Performance, concerto, The Lorin Hollander Award, 2016
—high school division

Alexander Lu    Redmond WA   

Victor Shlyakhtenko    Los Angeles CA   

Jarrett Mitsuhiro Takaki    Wilmette IL   
    Prokofiev #3

Jarod Yap    Clarence Center NY   
    Schumann A minor


We encourage finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on social media and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog.

Here is a sample announcement:

"Great News! I've just been selected as a finalist in the (blank) division of The American Prize national non-profit competitions in the performing arts. Here's the link: (copy link here). The American Prize will be announcing winners in my division next month. You can learn more about this prestigious national competition here: or follow the news on Facebook: or Twitter: "

Please feel free to modify or expand this announcement to suit your needs.

Congratulations to all finalists.

No comments:

Post a Comment