Monday, May 14, 2018

FINALISTS: stage directors, 2017-18

Marilyn Miller, 1920s Ziegfeld star
The American Prize is pleased to announce 2017-18 FINALIST stage directors. (The official announcement changing the name of this competition to The Charles Nelson Reilly Prize will be made on May 25, 2018, recognizing the eleventh anniversary of the Tony Award winner's death.)

Runners-up and winners will be selected from this list. To know the exact date when results will be announced, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

All contestants are reminded they are responsible for the viability of their online links to audition materials. Those links must remain active until complete results in the contest are announced officially. Questions, or to make us aware of any misprints in the listings below, please email:

"At The American Prize, there is never a set number of finalists in any category or division. We also try hard to not be about "winners" and "losers," but always seek to encourage excellence, creativity and imagination. That is one reason why we post the following statement with every finalist listing."—DK

If you are not a finalist this year, please remember that the contests are not yet over. The American Prize reserves the right to award Honorable Mentions and Citations for Special Achievement to any contestant, regardless of final placement. TAP has honored a number of semi-finalists and quarter finalists in the past--to recognize a unique talent or focus, unusual repertoire, vital programming or outreach. Citations and Honorable Mentions are usually awarded at the same time as winners and runners-up, but can be presented at any time up to the last winners' announcement of the contest year.
We invite finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on their facebook page, tweeting the news, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog. A sample announcement may be found at the end of the post.

FINALISTS: The American Prize in Stage Direction

Joshua Borths
Crane School of Music—SUNY Potsdam
Potsdam NY
The Magic Flute 

Herschel Garfein
Eklund Opera Company, University of Colorado
Boulder CO
The Magic Flute

Tracelyn Gesteland
University of South Dakota
Vermillion SD
The Marriage of Figaro

David Holley
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Greensboro NC
Amahl and the Night Visitors

Kristina Keener Ivy
Top Billing Entertainment
Glendora CA
The Little Mermaid

Darren P. Lawson
Bob Jones University
Greenville SC
Il Trovatore 

Justin John Moniz
Florida State University—Student Opera Society
Tallahassee FL
Amahl and the Night Visitors

Erin Naler
Bob Jones University
Greenville SC
The Trip to Bountiful (Horton Foote)

David Ronis
University of Wisconsin—Madison School of Music
Madison WI
Transformations (Conrad Susa)

Damian Savarino
Messiah College
Mechanicsburg PA
The Night Bell (Donizetti)

Copeland Woodruff
Lawrence University
Appleton WI
The Beggar's Opera (Gay/Britten)
Hydrogen Jukebox (Philip Glass)


We invite finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on social media, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog.

Here is a sample announcement:

"Great News! I have just been selected as a finalist in the (blank) division of The American Prize national non-profit competitions in the performing arts. Here's the link: (copy link here). The American Prize will be announcing results in the division soon. You can learn more about this prestigious national competition here: or follow the news on Facebook: or Twitter: "

Please feel free to modify or expand this announcement to suit your needs.

Congratulations to all finalists.

No comments:

Post a Comment