Monday, May 16, 2011

The American Prize in Composition—Orchestral Division

The American Prize is pleased to announce that the winner of The American Prize in Composition (Orchestral Division) is Jesse Ayers, for The Passion of John Brown, commissioned by the Akron Symphony Orchestra, Christopher Wilkins, music director.
JESSE AYERS's (b. Knoxville, TN 1951) music has been performed in Japan, New Zealand, South Africa, Russia, Poland, Serbia, Slovenia, and over 100 U.S. cities, and has twice been selected to represent the United States at the ISCM World Music Days. His awards include a MacDowell Fellowhip, an Individual Creativity Excellence Award from the Ohio Arts Council, annual awards from ASCAP, and grants from Meet the Composer and the American Music Center. For more about Mr. Ayers and The Passion of John Brown, please visit

Lee Actor placed second with Dance Rhapsody.
Todd Goodman placed third with Concerto for Bass Clarinet and Orchestra. 
Robert Wendel placed fourth with Towers of Light. 

Congratulations! Information about The American Prize in Composition, 2012, will be posted soon to our website. The postmark deadline for applications will be December 15, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment