Monday, June 11, 2012


The American Prize is pleased to announce semi-finalist conductors for 2012, including those for bands & wind ensembles, orchestras, choruses, opera and musical theater companies. Please scroll down to view the different divisions.

Do let us know of any misprints or if you have questions. or

The American Prize in Conducting —Band/Wind Ensemble Division, 2012

Richard Kazuhiko Henebry—New England Conservatory Wind Ensemble
H. Carl Hess—Duquesne University Wind Symphony/Symphony Band
Trent A. Hollinger—Peabody Conservatory Players
David Wacyk—University of Maryland Wind Orchestra

The American Prize in ConductingChoral Division, 2012

Richard Hynson—Bel Canto Chorus  
Jonathan Palant—Partners In Harmony  
Matthew Phelps—Chancel Choir of the Reformed Church of Bronxville
Karen P. Thomas—Seattle Pro Musica

 The American Prize in Conducting—Orchestra Division, 2012

Donald L. Appert—Clark College Orchestra
David Bernard—Park Avenue Chamber Symphony
Robert W. Butts—Baroque Orchestra of New Jersey   
Lois Ferrari—Austin Civic Orchestra   
Robert J. Helmacy—South Orange Symphony   
Guido Lamell—Los Angeles Musician's Symphony   
Tara Towson Villa—Lee County Community Orchestra 

Ricardo Averbach—Miami University Symphony Orchestra   
Sicong Bian—San Francisco Conserv. Symp.Orch.   
Daniel W. Boothe—Chautauqua Summer Festival Orchestra   
Conner Gray Covington—Eastman School Symphony Orchestra   
Douglas Droste—Oklahoma State University   
Lawrence Golan—Lamont Symphony Orchestra   
Yorgos Kouritas—Boise Philharmonic and Youth Symphony   
Isaac Kramer—The Young Artists Philharmonic   
Gemma New—Peabody Recital Orchestra   
Dr. David Rudge—SUNY Fredonia College Symphony Orchestra   
Dr. Bryce Seliger—The Pacific Philharmonic   
Chaowen Ting—Cincinnati Sinfonietta   
Vlad Vizireanu—ASU Symphony Orchestra 

Youth/High School 
Beau Benson—Midway Philharmonic
Dr. Thomas Taylor Dickey—Dubuque Youth Symphony Orchestra
Alyze Dreiling—YPO Philharmonic String Orchestra and Soloist Ensemble
James Feddeck—Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra
Jon Handman—Philharmonia/Vivace   
Christopher T.F. Hanson—S.M.A.R.T. Orchestra
Nathaniel Meyer—Belmont Festival Orchestra   
Michael Webster—Houston Youth Symphony 

Lawrence Golan—Yakima Symphony Orchestra
Travis Jurgens—Philharmonia of Greater Kansas City   
Steven Lipsitt—Boston Classical Orchestra/Various Orchestras
Dirk Meyer—Sarasota Orchestra   
Judith Morse—Edison Symphony
Stefano Sarzani—Orchestra Filarmonica Marchigiane
Nan Harrison Washburn—Michigan Philharmonic 

Programming—The Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award 
Donald L. Appert—Clark College Orchestra       
Donald L. Appert—Oregon Sinfonietta       
David Bernard—Park Avenue Chamber Symphony   
Luis Gabriel Biava—New Albany Symphony   
Richard Chiarappa—West Hartford Symphony       
Alyze Dreiling—YPO Philharmonic String Orchestra       
James Feddeck—Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra

Peter Freisinger—Freisinger Chamber Orchestra   
Lawrence Golan—Yakima Symphony Orchestra          
Robert J. Helmacy—South Orange Symphony   
Timothy Hutto—New York Symphonic Arts Ensemble   
Ken Selden—PSU Symphony Orchestra       
John W. Strickler—Topeka Symphony       
Tara Towson Villa—Lee County Community Orchestra
Russell Vinick—Lake Shore Symphony Orchestra       
Daniel Alfred Wachs—Orange County YSO   
Daniel Alfred  Wachs—Chapman Chamber Orchestra   
Victor S. Wahby, MD—Medical Musical Group

The American Prize in Conducting —Opera Division, 2012


Robert W. Butts—BONJ Opera
Christopher Fecteau—dell'Arte Opera Ensemble
Warren Puffer Jones—Arbor Opera Theater
Maria Sensi Sellner—Hubbard Hall Opera Theater

H. Carl Hess—Duquesne University
Maria Sensi Sellner—Carnegie Mellon University School of Music
Kirk A. Severtson—SUNY Potsdam, The Crane School of Music              

The American Prize in Conducting —Musical Theater Division, 2012

High School
David Crews Moschler—Youth Musical Theater Company of Berkeley
Patrick Towey—Ken-Ton Summer Arts Theatre
Mary Jo West—George Mason High School


Congratulations to all semi-finalists. We expect to begin to announce finalists in about two weeks.





No comments:

Post a Comment