Friday, May 17, 2013

SEMI-FINALISTS: The American Prize in Conducting, 2013

The American Prize  is pleased to announce semi-finalists in CONDUCTING for 2013.


To know the exact day and time when finalists will be announced, please "like" our Facebook page, where the information will be posted. 

Owing to the number of qualified candidates advanced to the semi-final rounds in certain categories, and as allowed under the rules, one prize will be awarded in each of the following divisions. The judges reserve the right to award special citations and honorable mentions at their discretion.

Please make us aware of any misprints:

The American Prize in Conducting—Orchestra division, professional
Darin Lewis  Simpatico Chamber Ensemble  Stamford, CT
Jason Lim   Odysseus Chamber Orchestra   Denton, TX
Judith Morse   Edison Symphony Edison, NJ
Vlad Vizireanu   George Enescu Philharmonic   Bucharest, Romania
Nan Harrison Washburn   Michigan Philharmonic   Plymouth, MI

The American Prize in Conducting—Orchestra division, community
Donald L. Appert  Clark College Orchestra  Vancouver, WA
David Bernard   Park Avenue Chamber Symphony   New York, NY
Robert W. Butts   The Baroque Orchestra of New Jersey   Madison, NJ
Anna Edwards   Seattle Collaborative Orchestra     Seattle, WA
Christopher Koch   Springfield-Drury Civic Orchestra   Springfield, MO
Benjamin Lorenzo   Stillwater/OSU Community Orchestra   Stillwater, OK
Tara Towson Villa   Davidson College Symphony Orchestra   Davidson, NC      

The American Prize in Conducting—Orchestra division, college/university (revised)

David Gargaro   Bard College Orchestra   Annandale on Hudson, NY
Taeyoung Lee   Mannes Orchestra   New York, NY
Qinqing Qian   SFCM Conservatory Orchestra   San Francisco, CA
Alexandra Dee   Florida State University Philharmonia   Tallahassee, FL
Carlos Espinosa  University of Kansas Symphony Orchestra Lawrence, KS
Steven Eric Hawk   University of Georgia Symphony Orchestra   Athens, GA
Lance Inouye   Lewis and Clark Orchestra   Honolulu, HI
Jeffery Meyer   Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra   Ithaca, NY
Dr. Jason Fredrick Rinehart   Univ. of Louisiana at Monroe   Monroe, LA
Dr. Bryce Seliger   Pacific Philharmonic   Forest Grove, OR
Kevin Sutterlin   University of Memphis Symphony Orchestra   Memphis, TN
Chaowen Ting   Eastman Philharmonia   Rochester, NY
Vlad Vizireanu   Arizona State Univ. Symphony Orchestra   Tempe, AZ
Vera Volchansky   Mellersville University Orchestra   Lancaster, PA
The American Prize in Conducting—Orchestra division, youth
Dr. Thomas Taylor Dickey   Dubuque Symphony Youth Orchestra   Dubuque, IA
Alyze Dreiling   YPO Soloist Ensemble   San Diego, CA
Jonathan Handman   Vivace Arlington HS Philharmonia   Poughkeepsie, NY
Christopher T.F. Hanson  SMART Orchestra  San Marcos, TX
Michael Webster   Houston Youth Symphony   Houston, TX
The American Prize in Conducting—Choral division     

Donald Kendrick   Sacramento Choral Society   Sacramento, CA
Darin Lewis   St. Francis Choir   Stamford, CT
Thomas R. Vozzella   Free Will Baptist Choral Union   Nashville, TN
Ingrid Lestrud   Conservatory Choir   Chicago, IL
Peggy Dettwiler   Mansfield University Festival Chorus   Mansfield, PA
Timothy S. McDonnell   Ave Maria University Chamber Choir   Ave Maria, FL
Richard Nance   Pacific Lutheran University Choir of the West   Tacoma, WA

The American Prize in Conducting—Band/Wind Ensemble division   
Joel Bein   High Desert Winds   Santa Fe, NM
Jason D. Duran   Lakeside Pride Sympnonic Band   Chicago, IL
Brian Hughes   Quad City Wind Ensemble   Davenport, IA
Kevin Sutterlin   Musikgesellschaft Emmen   Emmen, Switzerland
Benjamin Lorenzo (various) Austin, Lubbock TX, West Point, NY
Thanapol Setabrahmana   CCM Wind Studies      Cincinnati, OH
Christopher Unger   Eastman Wind Ensemble/Eastman Wind Orchestra   Rochester, NY

The American Prize in Conducting—Opera & Music Theater division
Robert W. Butts   Opera at Florham   Florham Park,  NJ
Maria Sensi Sellner   Hubbard Hall Opera Theater   Cambridge, NY
Robert W. Butts   BONJ Opera   Madison, NJ
Eric Peterson   Savoynet Performing Group   Buxton, England
Maria Sensi Sellner   Boston Opera Collaborative   Boston, MA
Lidiya Yankovskaya   Lowell House Opera, Harvard University   Cambridge, MA      
Brian DeMaris   Ithaca College   Ithaca, NY
Qinqing Qian   San Francisco Conservatory of Music   San Francisco, CA
Randi Ellen Rudolph   Ram's Head Theatrical Society at Stanford Univ.   Stanford, CA      

Vytautas Marijosius
The American Prize in Orchestral Programming—Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award 

John Stickler   Gulf Coast Symphony   Biloxi, MS
Donald L. Appert   Oregon Sinfonietta   Portland, OR
Donald L. Appert   Clark College Orchestra   Vancouver, WA
Jason Love   Columbia Orchestra   Ellicott City, MD
Tara Towson Villa   Lee County Community Orchestra   Sanford, NC
Tara Towson Villa   Davidson College Symphony Orchestra   Davidson, NC
Tian Hui Ng   Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra   South Hadley, MA
Jeffery Meyer   Ithaca College Chamber Orchestra   Ithaca, NY
Jeffery Meyer   Ithaca College Symphony Orchestra   Ithaca, NY
Dr. Bryce Seliger   Pacific Philharmonic   Forest Grove, OR
Alyze Dreiling   YPO Soloist Ensemble   San Diego, CA

No comments:

Post a Comment