Tuesday, August 5, 2014


Vytautas Marijosius
The American Prize is pleased to announce 2014 FINALISTS in Orchestral Programming, the Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award. Congratulations. All finalists receive written evaluations.

David Katz, chief judge of the competitions, writes:  
"Ten semi-finalists have been advanced, each exhibiting exceptional programming skills, courage and creativity, selecting seasons apparently well-tailored to their individual situations. A very stimulating competition."

To know the exact date when WINNERS, runners-up and any citation recipients will be announced next month, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

Please make us aware of any misprints in the listings below by emailing: theamericanprize@gmail.com

The American Prize—Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award in Orchestral Programming honors the memory of the great Lithuanian conductor, Maestro Vytautas Marijosius, music director of the Lithuanian State Opera, and for nearly thirty-five years Director of Orchestral Activities at the Hartt School of Music. The Prize recognizes and rewards the best achievement in the unique field of orchestral programming, where the selection of repertoire by knowledgeable, creative and courageous music directors builds orchestras and audiences, educates young people and adults, and enriches the community. 

The American Prize in Orchestral Programming
Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award 

Donald L. Appert   Portland, OR
   Oregon Sinfonietta
Robert W. Boardman   South Bend, IN
   South Bend Youth Symphony Orchestra
Collin G. Heade   Cannon Beach, OR
   North Oregon Coast Symphony
Tara Villa Keith   Sanford, NC
   Lee County Community Orchestra
Chris Younghoon Kim   Ithaca, NY
   Cornell Orchestras
Andrew Koehler   Kalamazoo, MI
   Kalamazoo Philharmonia
Steven Larsen   Rockford, IL
   Rockford Symphony Orchestra
Jaemi Blair Loeb   Danville, KY
   Centre College Orchestra
Tian Hui Ng   South Hadley, MA
   Mount Holyoke Symphony Orchestra
Nan Harrison Washburn   Plymouth, MI
   Michigan Philharmonic

No comments:

Post a Comment