Thursday, October 30, 2014


Late this summer, Maestro David Katz, chief judge of The American Prize, expressed a hope for the competitions "to do more" to advance the art, in part by bringing additional recognition to its competition laureates, past, present and future. 

Here is the first of several new initiatives to do just that. More will be announced in the coming weeks.


of The American Prize"

Annually, beginning next month, The American Prize will bestow on a number of its laureates the designation "HONORED ARTIST of The American Prize." Honored Artists are individuals (or ensembles) who have proved themselves to be of "sustained excellence" over a number of seasons as contestants in the competitions.

The Honored Artist designation, created to recognize solo artists and ensembles who may not have won first place but have consistently scored very highly in The American Prize competitions, is another way TAP seeks to bring attention to laureates deemed especially worthy.

Those selected for the honor will be highlighted in a separate section on The American Prize website and on Facebook, will receive expanded listings on The American Prize blog, will be featured in individualized press releases sent to local, regional and national media, and receive a special, framed certificate. Although Honored Artist status carries with it no monetary award as yet, honorees will receive a application fee waiver for a future competition.

Honored Artists must meet these criteria:
  • May be nominated by any member of The American Prize national judging panel.
  • Will have reached finalist status or higher and/or received an Honorable Mention or Special Judge's Certificate in at least three different competition years, which need not be consecutive.
  • Will have won The American Prize (first place) no more than once in the last two years. (Revised 2015)
  • Will have consistently received exceptional evaluations in their chosen area of endeavor.
  • Will be honored during a season in which they are an active participant.
  • Accept the designation.
  • There is no minimum or maximum number that will be awarded each season.
  • There is no separate application.
"Honored Artists of The American Prize" are given in memory of David's father, Abraham R. Katz, a gifted amateur musician, who died in 1999.

No comments:

Post a Comment