Tuesday, November 8, 2016

ORCHESTRA: semi-finalist ensembles, 2016 (REVISED)

The American Prize is pleased to announce SEMI-FINALIST orchestras for 2016 in all categories. Congratulations! As the contests unfold, finalists, runners-up and winners will be selected from this list.

To know the exact date when finalists will be announced, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

Please make us aware of any misprints in the listings below by emailing: theamericanprize@gmail.com

SEMI-FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Performance—professional division

Distinguished Concerts Orchestra
    Jonathan Griffith   New York NY
River Oaks Chamber Orchestra
    Anna Harris    Houston TX
Odysseus N. Texas Chamber Orchestra
    Jason Lim    McKinney TX
Michigan Philharmonic
    Nan Washburn    Plymouth MI

SEMI-FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Performance—college/university division

University of Delaware Symphony Orchestra
    James Allen Anderson    Newark DE
Miami University Symphony Orchestra
    Ricardo Averbach Oxford OH
West Texas A&M Orchestra
    Mark Bartley    Canyon TX
College of William & Mary Symphony Orchestra
    David Grandis    Williamsburg VA
Baylor Symphony Orchestra
    Stephen Heyde    Waco TX
IL Wesleyan Symphony Orchestra
    Lev Ivanov    Bloomington IL
Cornell Chamber Orchestra
    Chris Younghoon Kim   Ithaca NY
Dudley House Orchestra
    Aaron Kuan    Cambridge MA
Centre College Symphony
    Jaemi Loeb    Danville KY
Peabody Symphony Orchestra
    Hajime Teri Murai    Baltimore MD
Texas State Symphony
    Carolyn Watson    San Marcos TX

SEMI-FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Performance—community orchestra division

Oregon Sinfonietta
    Donald L. Appert    Portland OR
Clark College Orchestra
    Donald L. Appert    Vancouver WA
Texas Medical Center Orchestra
    Patricia Brown    Houston TX
Austin Civic Orchestra
    Lois Ferrari    Austin TX
Williamson County Symphony Orchestra
    Thomas Rainey    Round Rock TX
West Shore Symphony Orchestra
    Matthew Hooper    Mechanicsburg PA
Sharon Community Chamber Orchestra/Oliver Ames HS Chamber Orchestra
    Michael Korn    Sharon/Easton MA
Dudley House Orchestra
    Aaron Kuan    Cambridge MA
Midwest Chamber Ensemble
    Steve Nelson Lewis Jr.    Prairie Village KS
Detroit Medical Orchestra
    Elliot Moore    Detroit MI
Waynesboro Symphony Orchestra
    Charles Salembier    Waynesboro VA
The Parthenon Chamber Orchestra
    David P. Sartor    Nashville TN
Tucson Repertory Orchestra
    Toru Tagawa    Tucson AZ

SEMI-FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Performance—youth orchestra division 

Houston Youth Symphony
    Michael Webster   Houston TX
 Interlochen Arts Academy Orchestra
    Carolyn Watson  Interlochen MI

SEMI-FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Performance—high school orchestra division (corrected)

Allen HS Symphony Orchestra
    David DeVoto    Allen TX
Reagan Chamber Orchestra
    Sixto Elizondo IV   San Antonio TX
Arlington HS Philharmonia
    Jon Handman    LeGrangeville NY
Interlake HS Chamber Orchestra
    Shira Katsman    Bellevue WA
Klein Oak Chamber Orchestra
    Tanner Ledford    Spring TX
Plano West Chamber Orchestra
    Ryan Ross    Plano TX
Canyon del Oro High School
    Toru Tagawa    Oro Valley AZ


We invite semi-finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on social media, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog.

Here is a sample announcement:

"Great News! Our ensemble has just been selected as a semi-finalist in the (blank) division of The American Prize national non-profit competitions in the performing arts. Here's the link: (copy link here). The American Prize will be announcing finalists in the division in several weeks. You can learn more about this prestigious national competition here: www.theamericanprize.org or follow the news on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-American-Prize-celebrating-American-excellence-in-the-arts/214320622728 or Twitter: https://twitter.com/americanprize "

Please feel free to modify or expand this announcement to suit your needs.

Congratulations to all semi-finalists.


1 comment: