Saturday, May 19, 2018

FINALISTS: music theater divisions, 2017-18

Marilyn Miller, Ziegfeld star of the 1920s
The American Prize is pleased to announce FINALISTS in music theater divisions for 2017-18 in all categories, including conducting. Congratulations!

Runners-up and winners will be selected from this list. To know the exact date when results will be announced, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

All contestants are reminded they are responsible for the viability of their online links to audition materials. Those links must remain active until complete results in the contest are announced officially. Questions, or to make us aware of any misprints in the listings below, please email:

"At The American Prize, there is never a set number of finalists in any category or division. We also try hard to not be about "winners" and "losers," but always seek to encourage excellence, creativity and imagination. That is one reason why we post the following statement with every finalist listing."—DK

If you are not a finalist this year, please remember that the contests are not yet over. The American Prize reserves the right to award Honorable Mentions and Citations for Special Achievement to any contestant, regardless of final placement. TAP has honored a number of semi-finalists and quarter finalists in the past--to recognize a unique talent or focus, unusual repertoire, vital programming or outreach. Citations and Honorable Mentions are usually awarded at the same time as winners and runners-up, but can be presented at any time up to the last winners' announcement of the contest year.
We invite finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on their facebook page, tweeting the news, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog. A sample announcement may be found at the end of the post.

FINALISTS: The American Prize in Musical Theater Performance, 2017-18

Nancy Allen
Belmont University
Nashville TN
David Schamburger, stage director
Parade (Uhry/Brown)

Hugh Conor Angell
Taylor University
Upland IN
Tracy Manning, artistic director

Brian DeMaris
Arizona State University
Tempe AZ
Shrek the Musical

Kristina Keener Ivy
Top Billing Entertainment
Glendora CA
Little Mermaid 

Kelly Stevens
Saint Patrick School
Rodeo CA
Benjamin Stevens, conductor
The Lion King Jr.

FINALISTS: The American Prize in Conducting, (musical theater) 2017-18

Jo Lynn Burks
Belmont University
Nashville TN
Parade (Uhry/Brown)

Hosun Moon
Five Towns College
Dix Hills NY
In the Heights (Miranda)


We invite finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on social media, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog.

Here is a sample announcement:

"Great News! Our ensemble has just been selected as a finalist in the (blank) division of The American Prize national non-profit competitions in the performing arts. Here's the link: (copy link here). The American Prize will be announcing results in the division soon. You can learn more about this prestigious national competition here: or follow the news on Facebook: or Twitter: "

Please feel free to modify or expand this announcement to suit your needs.

Congratulations to all finalists.


No comments:

Post a Comment