Monday, May 18, 2020

Finalists: CONDUCTORS (orchestral programming), The Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award, 2019-20

Vytautas Marijosius
The American Prize wishes everyone safety and health during this difficult time.

The American Prize National Nonprofit Competitions in the Performing Arts, David (Volosin) Katz, founder and chief judge, is pleased to announce 2019-20 FINALIST conductors in orchestral programming, The Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award. Congratulations!

Commenting on this year's contest, Maestro Katz writes: "Absolutely fascinating. A very strong, competitive field. I suppose a contest about orchestral programming would in and of itself attract conductors who were good at it, but perhaps never more impressively than by this year's finalists."

The American Prize—Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award in Orchestral Programming honors the memory of the great Lithuanian conductor, Maestro Vytautas Marijosius, music director of the Lithuanian State Opera, and for nearly thirty-five years Director of Orchestral Activities at the Hartt School of Music. The Prize recognizes and rewards the best achievement in the unique field of orchestral programming, where the selection of repertoire by knowledgeable, creative and courageous music directors builds orchestras and audiences, educates young people and adults, and enriches the community.  

Runners-up and winners will be selected from this list. To know the exact date when results will be announced, please like our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter #AmericanPrize, where that information will be published first.

Questions, or to make us aware of any misprints in the listings below, please email:

"At The American Prize, there is never a set number of finalists in any category or division. We also try hard to not be about "winners" and "losers," but always seek to encourage excellence, creativity and imagination. That is one reason why we post the following statement with every finalist listing."—DK

If you are not a finalist this year, please remember that the contests are not yet over. The American Prize reserves the right to award Honorable Mentions and Citations for Special Achievement to any contestant, regardless of final placement. TAP has honored a number of semi-finalists and quarter finalists in the past--to recognize a unique talent or focus, unusual repertoire, vital programming or outreach. Citations and Honorable Mentions are usually awarded at the same time as winners and runners-up, but can be presented at any time up to the last winners' announcement of the contest year.
We invite finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on their facebook page, tweeting the news, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog. A sample announcement may be found at the end of the post.

REMINDER: Because of the current national and international situation, many rules have been changed and requirements eased to make it easier to apply for The American Prize 2020-21, In addition, we will accept applications from CLASSICAL VOCALISTS, PIANISTS, CHAMBER ENSEMBLES and INSTRUMENTAL SOLOISTS postmarked or emailed by the new extended deadline date of Monday, June 23, 2020. Applications from COMPOSERS, CONDUCTORS, STAGE DIRECTORS, CONDUCTED ENSEMBLES, ARTS MARKETERS and in the performance of American Music (BACON AWARD) will be accepted until Monday, July 20, 2020. Visit for complete contest information.

NATIONAL FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Programming / Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award—professional and college/university division, 2019-20

Dr. Brian Coffill
The Randolph-Macon Ensemble 
Randolph-Macon College        
Ashland VA            

Dr. Thomas Dickey
OSU Symphony Orchestra
Stillwater  OK  

Vladimir Kulenovic            
Lake Forest Symphony  
Lake Forest IL

Jason Lim
McKinney Philharmonic
McKinney TX

Nathaniel F. Parker
Kennesaw State University Symphony        
Kennesaw  GA   

Nadya Potemkina            
Wesleyan University Orchestra        
Middletown  CT   

David A. Rahbee
University of Washington Symphony Orchestra    
Seattle WA   

Rachel L.  Waddell
University of Rochester Orchestras        
Rochester   NY   

NATIONAL FINALISTS: The American Prize in Orchestral Programming / Vytautas Marijosius Memorial Award—community division, 2019-20

Donald L. Appert
Clark College Orchestra
Vancouver   WA                  

Donald L. Appert
The Jewish Community Orchestra of Portland
Portland  OR                  

John B.Gordon
Williamson County Symphony Orchestra 
Round Rock  TX 
Daniel Rainey, conductor                

David William Oertel
Starlight Symphony Orchestra         
Wimberley   TX                  

Mark Perlman
Willamette Falls Symphony
Oregon City and Tualatin  OR                  

James  Villani
Manassas Symphony Orchestra          
Manassas  VA      


We invite finalists to make the most of their selection by announcing it on social media, and including a link to this announcement on their website or blog.

Here is a sample announcement:

"Great News! I've just been selected as a finalist in the (blank) division of The American Prize national non-profit competitions in the performing arts. Here's the link: (copy link here). The American Prize will be announcing results in my division in soon. You can learn more about this prestigious national competition here: or follow the news on Facebook: or Twitter: "

Please feel free to modify or expand this announcement to suit your needs.

Congratulations to all finalists.

No comments:

Post a Comment